Lalive

Global vision

Corporate Social Responsibility

LALIVE has a long tradition of active involvement in the community, endeavouring to use its legal knowledge and expertise for the benefit of those in need, as well as fostering initiatives designed to promote legal education and enforcement. The firm also regularly makes donations to assist various charities as well as law students.

The firm’s lawyers regularly engage in pro bono legal work.  They also devote significant time to international organisations (such as UNCITRAL, WTO/ITC, UNITAR, ILA, TRIAL) and key Swiss and international professional associations and institutions in their field of expertise, becoming involved in the drafting of policy papers, country reports, model agreements, regulatory texts, legislative proposals and training programmes.

Illustrations of LALIVE's early pro bono activities  include Professor Lalive successfully representing an Algerian asylum seeker in his appeal before the Commission de recours en matière d’asile in the 1990s and Ms Giovannini acting pro bono for a number of years for a private art foundation that had been set up for the benefit of emerging countries.  

Examples of LALIVE’s recent or current activities in the community include:

Pro bono / free legal services

  • Provision of legal services to Amnesty International on the structure of its Geneva office, including advice on matters of corporate law, labour law and social security law. Lalive has also represented the organisation before the Geneva courts in relation to a lease dispute.
  • Partnering with Aid for International Development (A4ID) in providing pro bono legal services to various NGOs (a4id.org/).
  • Provision of pro bono legal advice to WeRobotics, an NGO aiming to accelerate and scale the impact of humanitarian aid, global development and environmental protection efforts through robotics solutions, in the creation and establishment of their Swiss entity, which will act as a base for fundraising activities in Switzerland and Europe as well as coordinate projects out of Switzerland.
  • Pro bono legal advice to Penal Reform International on sentencing of female abuse victims for violent crime against abusers and the rights of prisoners to vote in Switzerland.
  • Pro bono legal advice to Association Caméléon on securing the IP rights of a Swiss child's drawing, to be used for the association's merchandising.
  • Pro bono legal advice to the Pan African Lawyers Union (PALU) on the criminalisation of petty offences in Namibia and Mozambique.
  • Pro bono legal advice to Wikimedia on the use, storage and reproduction of images by Wikipedia.
  • Provision of strategic advice to the Cedar Foundation, a non-profit active in the social sphere field, regarding the incorporation of a non-profit entity in Switzerland including advice on the advantages and disadvantages in acting as a global hub for its operations and entities in other countries.
  • Provision of legal services to an international non-governmental organisation which responds to natural disasters and crises, as well as conflicts that uproot communities, with respect to insolvency issues raised by its Swiss entity.
  • Active involvement in the Human Rights Commission of the Geneva Bar Association (ODA) and working on its pro bono platform project aimed at connecting Geneva-based NGOs involved in the field of human rights and local law firms interested in providing pro bono services to them.

Non-legal work in the community, financial support to charities and students

  • Involvement in the organisation of a charity concert in support of research and treatment of serious diseases, in particular skin cancer, by the Department of Dermatology of University Hospital of Zurich and the Bruno Bloch foundation
  • Donation to the Pink Ribbons Project (in support of breast cancer awareness, prevention and treatment for women in need in the United States) (www.pinkribbons.org)   
  • Donation to the Kids Company (in support of inner city children in difficulty in the United Kingdom) (www.kidsco.org.uk
  • Donation to TRIAL (in support of victims of the gravest of international crimes) (www.trial-ch.org)
  • Donation to a number of children’s charities including Save the Children directly and through participation in charity balls
  • Donation of books on international law and arbitration for the use of Ukrainian law schools
  • Financial support to students to fund their participation in moot competitions, such as the Vienna Vis moot, the Frankfurt Investment moot and the ELSA WTO Moot Court Competition.

Lalive and the environment

Lalive is committed to reducing the environmental impact of its work.  The firm’s policies include: 

  • Monitoring and reducing energy consumption by automatic hibernation of computers, using low energy bulbs, motion sensors and automatic switches on lighting
  • Reducing paper use through electronic archiving and default double-sided printing 
  • Favouring electronic means of communication, including Skype and video conferences over travel whenever possible 
  • Systematic recycling of paper, PET bottles, glass and aluminium.

Lalive

Orientée vers ses clients

Responsabilité Sociale (CSR)

LALIVE a une longue tradition d'engagement social. L'Etude s'efforce de mettre en œuvre ses connaissances juridiques et son expertise au profit de ceux à qui elles peuvent être utiles, mais aussi d'encourager les initiatives destinées à promouvoir la formation juridique et l'Etat de droit. L'Etude accorde aussi régulièrement des dons à des organismes de bienfaisance et à des étudiants en droit.

Les avocats de l’Etude travaillent fréquemment pro bono. Ils consacrent aussi une partie importante de leur temps à des organisations internationales (telles que la CNUDCI, l’OMC/l’ITC, l’UNITAR, l’ILA, TRIAL) et à des associations professionnelles de premier plan dans leurs domaines d’expertise, à l’échelle internationale ou en Suisse, et sont ainsi associés à la rédaction de prises de position, de rapports nationaux, de contrats-types, de textes réglementaires et de propositions législatives, et à des programmes de formation.

On comptera parmi les premiers exemples de ces activités bénévoles l'assistance et la représentation, couronnées de succès, par le Professeur Lalive d'un demandeur d'asile algérien dans le cadre de son recours devant la Commission de recours en matière d'asile dans les années 1990, ou bien encore l'activité déployée bénévolement par Me Giovannini pendant plusieurs années pour le compte d'une fondation d'art privée créée au bénéfice des pays émergents.

Les engagements sociaux récents ou en cours de LALIVE comprennent :

Pro bono/services juridiques bénévoles

  • Conseil à Amnesty International sur la structure de son bureau de Genève, notamment sur des questions de droit des sociétés, de droit du travail et de droit des assurances sociales. Lalive a également représenté l'organisation devant les tribunaux genevois dans un contentieux relatif à un bail.
  • Partenariat avec Aid for International Development (A4ID) afin de fournir des services juridiques pro bono à de nombreuses ONG (www.a4id.org).
  • Conseil juridique bénévole à WeRobotics, une ONG visant à accélérer et mesurer l'impact de l'aide humanitaire, du développement mondial et des efforts de protection de l'environnement à travers des solutions robotiques, dans la création et l’établissement de leur entité suisse qui servira de base pour des collectes de fonds en Suisse et en Europe, ainsi qu’à coordonner des projets en dehors de la Suisse.

  • Conseil juridique bénévole à Penal Reform International sur la condamnation de femmes victimes de violence pour crimes violents à l’encontre des agresseurs et le droit de vote des prisonniers en Suisse.
  • Conseil juridique bénévole à l’Association Caméléon pour garantir les droits de propriété intellectuelle d’un dessin d’un enfant suisse destiné à être utilisé pour le merchandising de l’association.
  • Conseil juridique bénévole à l’Union panafricaine des avocats (UPA) sur la criminalisation des infractions mineures en Namibie et au Mozambique.
  • Conseil juridique bénévole à Wikimedia sur l’utilisation, la conservation et la reproduction d’images par Wikipedia.
  • Conseil stratégique à Cedar Foundation, une organisation à but non lucratif active dans le secteur social, sur la constitution d’un organisme à but non lucratif en Suisse comprenant notamment une analyse des avantages et désavantages de servir de centre mondial pour ses activités et ses filiales dans d’autres pays.
  • Conseil à une organisation non gouvernementale internationale, qui intervient en cas de crises et désastres naturels et de conflits causant le déplacement de communautés sur des questions d’insolvabilité en droit suisse.
  • Engagement actif auprès de la Commission des droits de l'Homme de l'Ordre des avocats de Genève (ODA) et travail sur un projet de plateforme pro bono destinée à faciliter le lien entre les ONG de défense des droits humains basées à Genève et les études d'avocats suisses souhaitant leur offrir des services à titre bénévole.

Engagements non juridiques, aide financière aux organismes de bienfaisance et aux étudiants

  • Implication dans l'organisation d'un spectacle de bienfaisance en faveur de la recherche et du traitement des maladies graves, en particulier le cancer de la peau, par le Département de dermatologie de l'Hôpital universitaire de Zurich et la Fondation Bruno Bloch
  • Don au projet Rubans Roses (Pink Ribbons Project) (pour la sensibilisation au cancer du sein, la prévention et le traitement pour les femmes dans le besoin aux Etats-Unis) (www.pinkribbons.org)
  • Don à Kids Company (pour les enfants dans le besoin issus de quartiers défavorisés au Royaume-Uni) (www.kidsco.org.uk)
  • Don à TRIAL (pour les victimes des crimes internationaux les plus graves) (www.trial-ch.org)
  • Don à des organismes de bienfaisance au profit des enfants y compris Save the Children, notamment à travers des bals de bienfaisance 
  • Don de livres de droit international et d’arbitrage à des facultés de droit ukrainiennes
  • Soutien financier aux étudiants afin de permettre leur participation à des concours oratoires, tels que le Vienna Vis moot, le Frankfurt Investment moot et le ELSA WTO Moot Court Competition.

LALIVE et l'environnement

LALIVE s'est engagée à réduire l'impact de son travail sur l'environnement. La politique de l'Etude s'attache notamment :

  • Au contrôle et à la réduction de la consommation de l'énergie à travers l'hibernation automatique des ordinateurs, l'utilisation d'ampoules basse consommation, de détecteurs de mouvement et de commutateurs automatiques d'éclairage
  • A la réduction de l'utilisation du papier à travers l'archivage électronique et l'impression recto verso par défaut
  • Aux moyens de communication électroniques, notamment Skype et vidéoconférences, au lieu de déplacements physiques
  • Au recyclage systématique du papier, des bouteilles PET, du verre et de l'aluminium.